Canadian Literary Awards

Canada is a country that loves reading books. State of the art libraries and abundance of literary awards make Canada a literature loving society. The literary awards in Canada are awarded every year to ensure that the writers new to this field are encouraged. This also propagates the Canadian culture as it is regarded as one of the best ones in the world. The main thing about the literary awards in Canada is that it is awarded to specific pieces of writings. The book’s prose and novels which present a better image of Canada to the outsiders are the ones on the list. Another great thing about the literary awards of Canada is that these are not mere certificates and trophies but are also accompanied with cash. This makes them work even harder if they want to get what they want. 

Arthur Ellis Awards

The suspense in the most read genre in Canada. This award is presented to the writer with the best crime or suspense book of that year. The best part is that this award is not just tied to English language only. The writers of other languages can also submit their books for reviews. Canada is a versatile society and this award wants to keep it that way. Some of the branches of Canadian literature covered by this novel are as follows:

  • Crime novel
  • First novel
  • Best Play
  • Young Adult Crime book

These awards were started in 1984 and since then numerous Canadians and outsider have won this awesome award.

Burt Award for First Nations, Métis and Inuit Literature

Youngsters should come forward and be a part of the Canadian literature society is all that this award is about. Though it is not as old as the other awards in Canada still it is a great way to encourage young literature writers. Burt Award for First Nations, Métis and Inuit Literature was started in 2013 and since then there is a wish in young Canadian writers to get this prestige. Three prizes are given each year to the young writing talent of Canada. Canadian Organization for Development through Education is the governing body. The cash prices are hefty as the first writer gets $12,000 followed by $8000 and $5000. This award is a great way to make sure that the best talent comes forward. These writers will definitely become the future of Canadian prose.

Griffin Poetry Prize

Established and awarded in the year 2000 for the first time Griffin Poetry Prize is founded by Scott Griffin who was a Canadian businessman. Here the good news for writers is that from 2010 the price money of this awesome award has been doubled. Two poets one from Canada and one internationally get this award each year. It is regarded as the most prestigious award of Canadian poetry. Getting is award means that a poet has achieved all that he wanted in his life. It is presented by Griffin Trust for Excellence in Poetry.